Posted by: macoy | May 9, 2009

Rain, Rain, Go Away

Even when typhoon Emong seemed to have gone away, the rains proved to be more persistent. Metro Manila felt the typhoon last Thursday, but it was sunny all over yesterday (Friday). So I thought that was the last of the pre-rainy season downpours.

I was about done eating late lunch at Mang Inasal, Tomas Morato when the rain poured down heavily, and the street outside was immediately flooded. At first I thought, this was usual in this section in Morato. But my was I mistaken – the flooding also covered the sidewalk this time. :O
Obviously all of the customers (and of course, the Mang Inasal staff & crew) inside were stranded.

I said to myself, good thing Mang Inasal’s floor level was several inches higher than the sidewalk level, so there’s no need to worry. But I was mistaken again. The water did reach Mang Inasal’s floor level, and it went inside even in the air-conditioned section. :O The water inside rippled, caused by, well… “waves” from the street which was further caused by passing vehicles who were stubborn enough to brave it out treading the river that is Tomas Morato Avenue. And it smelled like mudwater, carrying with it dirt, dried leaves and of course, dead roaches.

I was typing this entry with my feet resting in one of the table’s legs, and it’s already been an hour since we’ve been stranded in here (checked my watch, it’s 2:20pm).

Here are some of the pictures I took when all the action was happening:

09052009.jpg
This was taken when before the water level breached Mang Inasal’s floor level. The van is parking on the T. Morato sidewalk of Mang Inasal. Notice the small boy enjoying in the middle of the street.

09052009001.jpg
Another view of the mayhem outside.

Snapshots of water gushing inside the Mang Inasal air-conditioned area.
09052009004.jpg

09052009002.jpg

I wasn’t able to take decent pictures anymore when all the floor area was covered with water since the lights went out in Mang Inasal at 2:00pm…

I wonder how it was with the other establishments in Tomas Morato, or in other parts of Quezon City for that matter…

PS: I finally got out of Mang Inasal as the water level receded below Mang Inasal’s floor level. Good thing the establishment has no window so I was able to jump out easily on the sidestreet and proceed to Starbucks Morato. When I got out that section of the street was still flooded and the sidewalk’s pavement was starting to be visible again…

Responses

  1. Was definitely surprised with this flooded section along T. Morato. I thought Charo was talking about a Morato River located somewhere else. hehe… until she took a photo and right smack in the middle of the photo — Mang Inasal. 🙂

    I guess she wasn’t that far from where you wrote this entry, eh? 🙂

  2. Haha, she sure got a better view of the Morato River. It’s scarier to look at pala from outside. Yeah, I was inside Mang Inasal that time. Very *fortunate* of me. Tsk…


Leave a Reply

Categories

